BAYSHORE BEACH CLUB, INC.

ANNUAL MEMBERS MEETING Saturday May 20, 2023

In Attendance

Michael Vest, Vice President	Division 7
Carolyn Gardner, Corp Sec	Division 5
William Nightingale, Director	Division 7
Vivian Mills, Director	Division 6
Kate Guptill, Director	Division 1
Storr Nelson, Director	Division 5

Vice President Vest welcomed everyone to the Membership meeting. Corporate Secretary Gardner determined a quorum was present with at least 50 members. The Annual Members Meeting was called to order at 1:00 pm.

Welcome Remarks: The Directors on the current Board introduced themselves, their divisions, and their roles and responsibilities.

Hand Claps: Members on Bayshore Committees; a group called the Weed Whackers, who cleaned up the Clubhouse recently; the Artisans Group; Kathy Drossel, the office coordinator and notary.

Election of Board of Directors: Floor nominations were opened for election to the Board of Directors.

- Roger Smith, Division 3, submitted his application before March 31st and was previously nominated to run at the April BOD meeting.
- <u>Joshua Hanselman</u>, Division 4, was vetted by the Nominating Committee prior to the meeting, and was cleared for floor nominations. Trish Ferrell-French formally nominated Josh Hanselman.

With no further nominations from the floor, nominations were closed and any remaining ballots were collected.

Proposed 2023-24 Budget: Mary Lou Morris, Chair of the Budget committee, and two other budget committee members, Bill Uhlman and Carolyn Gardner, made themselves available at the meeting. They proposed a budget for next year, and copies were available. The budget will be discussed at the June BOD meeting. If members have questions or concerns about the budget, they may reserve an agenda item time before the next meeting deadline. Also, members may leave a message with the Bayshore office, if they have a question about the Budget, and a budget committee member will return their call.

Bylaws Task Force Report:

Member and Director Kate Guptill started the discussion and introduced the entire Bylaws committee: Elaine Ferguson, Chair, Storr Nelson, Brittney Bryant, Kathi Lenz, Gary Brown, John Westhafer, Kathie Boian, and Debbie White. The Bylaws Task Force reviewed the proposed changes included in the final report and allowed member comments regarding the final report.

Original Motion

Member Elaine Ferguson moved and Director Kate Guptill seconded to:

Have the BOD send the Bylaws Task Force Report to the Bayshore attorney for review. After edits, request a special meeting as soon as practical for member vote.

Point of Order

- Trish Ferrell-French called point of order regarding improper notice to members so the motion was out of order
- Chair ruled point well taken since motion was not on the agenda and notice wasn't given to membership, it violates P&Ps regarding engaging with the attorney, and it violates 10% vote of members required to call a special members meeting
- Harry Demarest appealed the ruling of the chair
- After discussion, vote was held on the appeal: 48 to uphold the ruling of the chair, 51 against. The chair's decision was overruled.

Amendment

Insert "by the bylaws task force, based on the attorney's recommendations," following "After edits".

Amendment passed by voice vote.

Amended Motion

Member Elaine Ferguson motioned and Debbie White seconded to:

Have the BOD send the Bylaws task force report to the attorney for review. After edits by the Bylaws Task Force, based on the attorney's recommendations, request a special meeting as soon as practical for member vote.

Amended motion passed 60-57.

Other Members Comments:

Several members commented about the meeting and the good discussions. The general feeling was that democracy takes time and respect for others to work well.

Announcement of Results for the 2023-2024 Board of Directors:

Corporate Secretary Gardner thanked the members for remembering to sign and put their number on the envelope.

Member Roger Smith, Division 3, was voted in with 157 votes.

Member Joshua Hanselman, Division 4, was voted in with 93 votes.

Below is Bayshore's Board of Directors for 2023-24.

Kenn Apel Carolyn Gardner Kate Guptill Joshua Hanselman Storr Nelson William Nightingale Roger Smith Michael Vest

ADJOURNMENT: Vice President Vest motioned to adjourn the Members meeting and voice count was unanimous in favor.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:15 PM.

Minutes prepared by Kathy Drossel with assistance from President Vest and Corporate Secretary Gardner

